Home
 
RC Airplane Reviews The #1 Source for Reviews!
Parkzone Ultra Micro F-27Q Stryker 180 Review Print E-mail
Wednesday, 24 August 2011 21:06

Intro

It was a late Friday afternoon when I went into RC Hobbies to pick up the new(ish) Parkzone F-27Q Stryker. I had ordered a PnP version and it had finally come in. I was about to pay for the beastly airplane when my eyes looked towards the top shelf and noticed a whole row of Ultra Micro Strykers! Even though I know how to read I blurted out “Are those the new micro Strykers?!” Indeed they were. I was under the impression they were still weeks from being released but somehow they were already in stock. I knew I definitely wanted to review the micro Stryker so I reached even deeper in my wallet and went home with two Strykers in hand.

Last Updated on Wednesday, 24 August 2011 21:23
Read more...
 
Parkzone F-27Q Stryker Review Print E-mail
Tuesday, 23 August 2011 22:18


Intro

A few years back I decided I had the need for speed. Still being somewhat of a ‘noob’ I did some research and found that if I wanted to go fast I should buy the Parkzone Stryker. I looked online and found someone that was selling a highly modified Stryker near my house. I met the guy and although the Stryker was bright orange and beat up, I bought it. The airplane was a beast that definitely topped 100mph at full throttle but the motor and battery would come down blazing hot after each flight. It served me well for several months before I pulled a ‘watch this’ maneuver and ran it full blast into a tree. The resulting carnage was spectacular. Over time I rebuilt the Stryker but it was never the same and Shaky Thumbs has constantly bugged me about getting a new one.

When I saw that Parkzone was re-releasing the Stryker I was only mildly intrigued since I still had one on the shelf. A month ago I managed to burn up my Stryker’s motor while testing a questionable ESC and watched in dismay as hot embers jumped from the motor can like fleas off of a dog. Suddenly I was in the market for a new Stryker! Last weekend I went to the RC Hobbies and bought the new F-27Q Stryker to see what all the fuss was about.

Last Updated on Tuesday, 23 August 2011 22:42
Read more...
 
Pacific Aeromodels Gee Bee Model 'Y' Review Print E-mail
Friday, 19 August 2011 22:57

History

The Gee Bee Model Y Senior Sportster was a sports aircraft built in the United States in the early 1930s by the Granville Brothers. Essentially an enlarged two-seat version of the single-seat Sportster, it was a low-wing strut-and-wire-braced monoplane of conventional -- if short-coupled -- design with open cockpits and fixed tailskid undercarriage. The first of the two examples constructed (registration NR11049) was built for the Granville Brothers Company itself and served as a support aircraft for the R-1 and R-2 racers and also for competition in its own right. The other Model Y (registration NR718Y) was built as an engine test bed for Lycoming. This latter aircraft was later refitted with a Wright Whirlwind of nearly double the power of its original power plant. In this form, it was flown by Florence Klingensmith at the 1933 Chicago International Races, where she won second place in the Women's Free-For-All and was killed in it while contesting the Phillips Trophy. The Gee Bee carries a crew of one and is powered by a Lycoming R-680 engine capable of producing 215 hp and giving a max speed of 160 mph.

Last Updated on Friday, 19 August 2011 23:35
Read more...
 
Parkzone RAF SE5a RC Airplane Review Print E-mail
Monday, 08 August 2011 05:32

History

The Royal Aircraft Factory S.E.5 was a British biplane fighter aircraft of the First World War. Although the first examples reached the Western Front before the Sopwith Camel and it had a much better overall performance, problems with its Hispano-Suiza engine, particularly the geared-output H-S 8B-powered versions, meant that there was a chronic shortage of S.E.5s until well into 1918 and fewer squadrons were equipped with the type than with the Sopwith fighter. Together with the Camel, the S.E.5 was instrumental in regaining allied air superiority in mid-1917 and maintaining this for the rest of the war, ensuring there was no repetition of "Bloody April" 1917 when losses in the Royal Flying Corps were much heavier than in the Luftstreitkräfte.

Only 77 original S.E.5 aircraft were built before production settled on the improved S.E.5a. The S.E.5a differed from late production examples of the S.E.5 only in the type of engine installed - a geared 200 hp Hispano-Suiza 8b, often turning a large clockwise-rotation four-bladed propeller, replacing the 150 hp model. In total 5,265 S.E.5s were built by six manufacturers. A few were converted as two-seat trainers and there were plans for Curtiss to build 1,000 S.E.5s in the United States but only one was completed before the end of the war. At first, airframe construction outstripped the very limited supply of French-built Hispano-Suiza engines and squadrons earmarked to receive the new fighter had to soldier on with Airco DH 5s and Nieuport 24s until early 1918. The troublesome geared "-8b" model of the "Hisso" V8 was prone to have serious gear reduction system problems, sometimes with the propeller (and even the entire gearbox on a very few occasions) separating from the engine and airframe in flight.

The introduction of the 200 hp (149 kW) Wolseley Viper, a high-compression, direct drive version of the Hispano-Suiza 8a made under licence by the Wolseley Motor Company, solved the S.E.5a's engine problems and was adopted as the standard powerplant. With the Wolseley under the hood the plane had a top speed of 138 mph a range of 300 miles and a service ceiling ot 17,000 feet.

Last Updated on Monday, 08 August 2011 18:28
Read more...
 
E-flite BAE Hawk RC Airplane Review Print E-mail
Tuesday, 16 August 2011 00:51

History

The BAE Systems Hawk is a British single engine, advanced jet trainer aircraft. It first flew in 1974 as the Hawker Siddeley Hawk. The Hawk is used by the Royal Air Force, and other air forces, as either a trainer or a low-cost combat aircraft. The Hawk is still in production with over 900 Hawks sold to 18 customers around the world.

The Hawk is a tandem two-seat aircraft and has a low-mounted cantilever monoplane wing and is powered by a non-augmented turbofan engine. The low-positioned one-piece wing was designed to allow a wide landing gear track and to enable easier maintenance access. The wing is fitted with wide-span, double-slotted, trailing-edge flaps for low-speed performance. Integral to the wing is 836 liter (184 imp gal) fuel tank and room for the retractable main landing gear legs. Designed to take a +8/-4 g load, the original requirement was for two stores hard points but it was designed to fit four hard points by Hawker Siddeley.

The fuselage design was led by the need to get a height differential between the two tandem cockpits; this enabled increased visibility for the instructor in the rear seat. Each cockpit is fitted with a Martin-Baker Mk 10B zero-zero rocket assisted ejection seat. The center fuselage has an 823 liter (181 Imp Gal) flexible fuel tank. The two-shaft turbofan Rolls-Royce Turbomeca Adour engine is fitted in the rear-fuselage with inlets on each side above the forward wing roots. A ram air turbine is fitted just in front of the single fin as well as a gas turbine auxiliary power unit above the engine. The forward retracting landing gear leg is fitted in the nose. The Hawk has a service ceiling of 13, 565 and a thrust to weight ratio of .65.

Last Updated on Wednesday, 17 August 2011 04:10
Read more...
 
«StartPrev12345678910NextEnd»

Page 7 of 15
Copyright © 2017 rcairplanereviews.com. All Rights Reserved.
 

Who's Online

We have 21 guests online

Helpful Links

What is your favorite type of RC airplane to fly?

What is your favorite type of RC airplane to fly?